Sultanate of Selangor : Part I

The Sultans of Selangor

 The Sultans of Selangor are descended from a Bugis dynasty that claim descent from the rulers of Luwu in the southern part of Celebes (today known as Sulawesi). Nobles from this bloodline were involved in the dispute over the Johor-Riau Sultanate in the early 18th century, eventually placing their full support in the cause of Sultan Abdul Jalil of the Bendahara dynasty against the claimant to the Malaccan lineage, Raja Kechil. For this reason, the Bendahara rulers of Johor-Riau established close relations with the Bugis nobles, providing them with titles and control over many areas within the empire, including Selangor

Sultan Salehuddin
Raja Lumu was proclaimed as the first Sultan of Selangor by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Mahmud Shah II. He was installed as Sultan Salehuddin and left Perak with a royal seal and Nobat as symbols of kingship.
Raja Lumu was the son of the Yamtuan Muda of Riau, Daeng Chelak.

Sultan Ibrahim
The son of Sultan Salehuddin, Raja Ibrahim was proclaimed as the second Sultan of Selangor in 1784. Raja Ibrahim was installed as Sultan Ibrahim and he reigned until 1826 after Selangor became a fully independent State.

Sultan Muhammad
Sultan Muhammad became the third Sultan of Selanngor after he ascended his father's throne in 1826. He was conferred the title Raja Muda by his father, Sultan Ibrahim although he was not the eldest son. He was installed and crowned according to Bugis tradition.

Sultan Abdul Samad
Raja Abdul Samad was the grandson to the second Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Ibrahim. He became the Sultan of Selangor because the Raja Muda (Crown Prince), Raja Mahmud Sultan Muhammad was only 13 years old when his father passed awayin 1857. Sultan Abdul Samad was never formally installed because there were calls for the Sultan to abdicate after Raja Jumaat's death.

Sultan Ala'eddin Sulaiman Shah
Raja Suleiman was the first son to Raja Muda Musa. He was born in 1865 in Kuala Selangor. He was installed as the Sultan of Selangor to succeed his grandfather, Sultan Abdul Samad. His Proclamation as the Sultan of Selangor was held on 17th February 1898 at Istana Jugra and crowned at Astana Mahkota Puri on 22 October 1903.

Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah
Tengku Alam Shah ascended the throne after the death of his father. He was born on 13th May 1898 as the third son of Sultan Ala'eddin Sulaiman Shah. He was appointed as Tengku Panglima Raja in 1920 and Tengku Laksamana in 1931. He was installed as the Raja Muda of Selangor in July 1936. Japanese Occupation. He ascended the throne again British regained control of Malaya in 1945. Sultan Hisamuddin was elected as the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong in 1957. He was proclaimed as the second Yang di-Pertuan Agong upon the death of Tuanku Abdul Rahman in 1960. However, he died in his office a few months after his proclamation and a few hours before his installation.

Sultan Musa Ghiatuddin Riayat Shah 
Tengku Musa Eddin was the eldest son to Sultan Ala'eddin Sulaiman Shah. He was born in 1893 and elected as the heir apparent in 1920. He was installed as the Sultan of Selangor as Sultan Musa Ghiatuddin Riayat Shah in 1942 during Japanese Occupation. He was dethroned during the return of British in 1945.

Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Alhaj
Tengku Abdul Aziz Shah was born on 8th March 1926 in Kuala Langat. Tengku Abdul Aziz was the son to to Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah. He became the Tengku Laksamana in 1946 and was elected as the Raja Muda (Crown Prince) in 1950. He was proclaimed as Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah on 3rd September 1960 upon his father's death. He was installed and crowned on 28th June 1961. Sultan Salahuddin died in his office as Yang di Pertuan Agong on 21st November 2001 after he was elected in 1999.

Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah
The eldest son of Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah, Tengku Idris Shah was born on 24th December 1945 in Klang.  Tengku Idris was proclaimed as the Raja Muda of Selangor in 1960. He was formally installed as the Raja Muda of Selangor on 14th October 1970. He was proclaimed as the Sultan of Selangor on 22nd November 2001. He was installed and proclaimed on 8th March 2003 at Istana Alam Shah Klang.